The Best Alien Book of 2017

The best alien book 2017 I AM ROME

The Best Alien Book of 2017 hands down is ‘I am Rome’. How do I know this? Because I wrote it! You may think I’m more than a little biased, and you would be right, but hear me out.

The impetus of this book came from the TV show Person of Interest. As I was watching, I couldn’t help but think… this seems very Batman-y. I did some research and discovered that I was not the only person to think this. The show was created by Jonathan Nolan, who wrote The Dark Knight (2008) and The Dark Knight Rises (2012). I then discovered an interview on YouTube where someone asked him if the show was supposed to be like Batman and he said yes, it was an homage to Batman.

Batman is essentially a billionaire and a crime fighter. What Nolan decided to do for the show was break those identities apart into two separate characters. I thought this was a great idea so I decided to steal it. I wrote ‘I am Rome’ as an homage to the greatest superhero the world has ever known — Superman. Superman is essentially a farm boy and an alien. I am Rome separates those two identities into individual characters.

Here’s the back blurb:

Seventeen-year old pizza delivery boy Joe Smith lived a simple life. He had a bike, a job, and a crush on a girl, but that was about it. He didn’t have dreams beyond working on the family farm and continuing to live in the same rural community in which he was born. Until one night when everything changed.

After finishing his shift at the pizzeria, he headed home, riding his bike down a long and lonesome stretch of highway. Guided by the dim glow from the moonlight and a small light affixed to his helmet, he battled fatigue as he struggled to peddle the long distance home.

When a strange object flew overhead fast and low, and crashed into the neighbour’s cornfield, Joe had to investigate. Thinking it was a small plane or a downed satellite, Joe rushed to the scene of the crash. What he discovered was far beyond anything he’d ever seen or even imagined before. The strange craft was not from this planet.

Hidden among the tall stalks of corn, Joe watched with caution. From the rubble emerged a wounded alien.

If this doesn’t sound like the best alien book, then I don’t know what does. Check it out on Amazon or anywhere else fine ebooks are sold.

A bit about me — I’m an author, blogger, YouTuber, and podcaster from Vancouver, Canada who is perhaps best known for my debut novel, THE ART OF THE HUSTLE and my techno-thriller series PRODIGY. I’m also a Wattpad Star so you can check me out there as well.

Leave a Reply

